Häufig gestellte Fragen

BESTELLUNG

WIE HOCH SIND DIE VERSANDKOSTEN?
Bereich 1 Bestellungen über €100,- Kostenloser Versand
Bereich 1 Bestellungen unter €100,- €5,-
Zone 2 €5,-
Other €20,-

Bereich 1: Belgien, Deutschland, Frankreich, Luxemburg, Niederlande

Bereich 2: Österreich, Bulgarien, Tschechien, Dänemark, Estland, Finnland, Griechenland, Ungarn, Italien, Lettland, Litauen, Polen, Portugal, Irland, Rumänien, Slowenien, Spanien, Schweden, Großbritannien

WIE LANGE IST DIE LIEFERZEIT?

Nachdem deine Bestellung bei uns eingegangen ist, beginnen wir sofort mit der Bearbeitung. Erfolgreich bearbeitete Bestellungen werden innerhalb eines Arbeitstages von unserem Lager in den Niederlanden versandt. Alle unsere Pakete werden von PostNL verschickt. Sobald wir deine Bestellung abgeschlossen haben, erhältst du eine Bestätigung der Versendung per E-Mail.

Die Versandkosten befinden sich auf deinem Kuyichi-Konto und werden automatisch zu der Rechnung hinzugefügt. Die Versandkosten variieren je nach Land/Region und werden angezeigt, bevor du deine Bestellung bestätigst.

Lieferungen innerhalb der Benelux-Länder und Deutschland erfolgen innerhalb von 1-5 Arbeitstagen. In den Benelux-Ländern werden Bestellungen von Montag bis Samstag geliefert.

Für andere Länder/Regionen kann die Lieferung länger dauern, jedoch nicht länger als 10 Tage.

Netherlands 1-2 Werktage
Belgium 1-5 Werktage
Luxembourg 1-5 Werktage
Germany 1-5 Werktage
Other 5-10 Werktage
WIE KANN ICH MEINE BESTELLUNG VERFOLGEN?

Alle unsere Pakete werden mit PostNL verschickt. Sobald wir deine Bestellung abgeschlossen haben, bekommst du eine Bestätigung per E-Mail, dass wir sie verschickt haben. Du erhältst in dieser E-Mail einen Track & Trace – Code, um deine Bestellung online zu verfolgen.

WIE KANN ICH MEINE BESTELLUNG UMTAUSCHEN?

Wenn du aus irgendeinem Grund nicht zufrieden bist, hast du, nachdem du die Bestellung erhalten hast, 30 Tage Zeit sie an uns zurückzuschicken. Bitte stelle sicher, dass das Produkt in seinem ursprünglichen Zustand und seiner originalen Verpackung zurückgeschickt wird, ohne dass Etiketten entfernt wurden.

Um sicherzustellen, dass uns das Paket sicher erreicht, sollte ein Postdienst verwendet werden, der eine Tracking-Nummer zur Verfügung stellt, damit das Paket jederzeit nachverfolgt werden kann. Es ist deine Verantwortung, dass das Paket uns sicher erreicht. Bitte beachte, dass Rücksendekosten für den Kunden entstehen und nicht erstattungsfähig sind.

Nachdem die Rücksendung überprüft wurde, wird das Geld mit der gleichen Zahlungsmethode mit der gezahlt wurde zurückerstattet. Die Rücksendungen werden wöchentlich abgewickelt, sodass die Rückerstattung des Geldes nur ein paar Arbeitstage dauern sollte.

Klicke hier um das Rücksendeformular zu downloaden

Du kannst deine Rücksendung an die folgende Adresse schicken:

Kuyichi Webshop
Watermolen 6
4751VK Oud Gastel
Netherlands

KOLLEKTION

WO KANN ICH KUYICHI WAREN KAUFEN?

Du kannst unsere Kuyichi Kleidung in unserem Online-Shop kaufen oder den nächstgelegenen Händler im store locator finden.

WEN KANN ICH KONTAKTIEREN, WENN MEIN KUYICHI PRODUKT NICHT DEN ERWARTUNGEN ENTSPRICHT?

Wir möchten, dass all unsere Kunden mit ihren Produkten von uns zufrieden sind. Im Falle von Beschwerden bitten wir alle, sich mit dem Geschäft in Verbindung zu setzen, wo das Produkt gekauft wurde. Bitte vergiss nicht die Quittung oder den Transaktionsnachweis der Bank mitzubringen. Falls das Produkt in unserem Online-Shop bestellt wurde, kontaktiere uns unter webshop@kuyichi.com.

WIE KANN ICH MEINE KLEIDUNG PFLEGEN?

Um herauszufinden wie ein bestimmter Artikel am besten gereinigt werden kann, lies bitte die Pflegehinweise auf dem Pflegeschild in der Kleidung.
Das Waschen wirkt sich erheblich auf den ökologischen Fußabdruck der Kleidung aus. Kuyichi folgt dem Clevercare-Symbol von GINETEX, dass Tipps gibt, wie man die Umweltauswirkungen der Kleidung beeinflussen kann. Unsere wichtigsten Tipps sind:

  • Wasche die Jeans nur, wenn sie schmutzig ist. Nach dem Tragen kann die Jeans ein paar Stunden im Freien aufgehangen werden, um wieder aufzufrischen. Flecken können meistens mit einem feuchten Tuch gereinigt werden.
  • Verwende kurze- oder Öko-Waschprogramme für leicht verschmutzte Wäsche.
  • Die Pflegesymbole zeigen die maximale Behandlung an. Das Waschen bei niedrigeren Temperaturen als auf dem Etikett angegeben, ist immer möglich und verbraucht weniger Energie (lies jedoch die Anweisungen auf dem Waschmittelpaket).
  • Trockne die Wäsche möglichst im Freien an der frischen Luft oder in einem ungeheizten Raum.

Auf diesem Blog erfährst du mehr über die Pflege deiner Jeans.

WAS KANN ICH MIT MEINER ALTEN KLEIDUNG MACHEN?

Kuyichi glaubt nicht an fast fashion. Deshalb sind all unsere Kleidungsstücke auf Langlebigkeit ausgelegt: gemacht aus hochwertigen Stoffen, mit einem zeitlosen Aussehen. Unser Ziel ist es, den gesamten Lebenskreifslauf, von der Produktion bis hin zum Recyceln, unserer Produkte zu beachten. Wenn es Zeit ist sich von den alten Kleidungsstücken zu verabschieden, bitte Spende sie an Wohltätigkeitsorganisationen oder hinterlasse sie in einem Textilrecycel-Container, um die Wiederverwendung oder das Recyceln der Kleidung zu ermöglichen. Du kannst deine Jeans auch zu den Nukuhiva Läden in Amsterdam und Utrecht bringen. Sie sammeln für uns Jeans, um diese in neue Produkte zu Recyclen, wie die der Zusammenarbeit mit Blueloop.

AUS WELCHEN MATERIALIEN WIRD KUYICHIS KLEIDUNG GEMACHT?

We aim to solely use sustainable materials. We use the Environmental Benchmark for Fibres by Made-By to define this. Class A and B are the most preferable materials. This includes organic cotton, tencel and recycled cotton. We also use linen, hemp and recycled polyester. More information about our materials can be found on our Pure Denim page.

Wir wollen ausschließlich nachhaltige Materialien verwenden. Wir verwenden den Environmental Benchmark for Fibres von Made-By, um dies zu definieren. Klasse A und B sind die am meisten bevorzugten Materialien. Dazu gehören Bio-Baumwolle, Tencel und recycelte Baumwolle. Wir verwenden ebenfalls Leinen, Hanf und recyceltes Polyester. Weitere Informationen zu unseren Materialien befindet sich auf unserer Pure Denim Seite.

SIND MEINE JEANS VEGAN?

Viele Jeansmarken verwenden Lederflicken auf ihren Jeans. Seit 2016 haben wir beschlossen, kein Leder mehr zu benutzen. Wir haben den Lederflecken mit einem aus Jacron-Papier ersetzt, wodurch alle Kuyichi Jeans vegan sind. Jacron-Papier wird aus recyceltem Papier gemacht. Es ist ein waschbares und sehr widerstandsfähiges Material.

Alle veganen Shirts und Jeans sind an dem veganen Logo unter den Bildern erkennbar.

WO WIRD DIE KUYICHI KLEIDUNG HERGESTELLT?

Die Kuyichi Kleidung wird in der Türkei, Pakistan und Italien hergestellt. Hier kannst du mehr über unsere Produktion herausfinden.

SOZIALE KONFORMITÄT

WIE SORGT KUYICHI FÜR DIE MENSCHEN DIE UNSERE KLEIDUNG HERSTELLEN?

Durch den Gebrauch von Bio-Baumwolle fördert Kuyichi einen verantwortungsvollen und ethischen Handel. Neben strengen Umweltkriterien verlangt GOTS die Einhaltung sozialer Kriterien.

Wir wählen unsere Lieferanten sorgfältig aus und sorgen dafür, dass sie mit unserem Verhaltenskodex übereinstimmen und diesen unterzeichnen. Mit unserem Verhaltenskodex stellen wir sicher, dass Kuyichi-Produkte verantwortungsbewusst hergestellt werden. Dieser Verhaltenskodex gilt für alle Teile der Produktionskette, für unsere Lieferanten und auch deren Subunternehmer. Wir halten es für sehr wichtig, die Verantwortung für unser Handeln zu Übernehmen, und dies möchten wir allen unseren Lieferanten, Unterlieferanten, Vertretern, Händlern und anderen Parteien klar vermitteln. Der Verhaltenskodex enthält die grundlegenden Anforderungen, die wir an alle unsere Lieferanten und Subunternehmer stellen.

WAS STEHT IN KUYICHIS VERHALTENSKODEX?

Der Verhaltenskodex ist basiert auf den internationalen Bestimmungen der International Labour Organisation (ILO) und der United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights und enthält den von der Fair Wear Foundation angewandten Code of Labour Practice. Obwohl Kuyichi zurzeit kein Mitglied von der Fair Wear Foundation ist, legen wir großen Wert auf ihren Code of Labour Practice und haben unseren Verhaltenskodex darauf basiert.

Du kannst unseren Verhaltenskodex hier finden.

WAS IST GOTS?

Alle Baumwolle, die wir verwenden ist GOTS-zertifiziert. GOTS steht für Global Organic Textile Standard. Dies ist ein globaler Textilstandard für biologische Fasern, der ökologische und soziale Kriterien beinhaltet. Ziel dieser Norm ist es, biologische Standards zu gewährleisten – von der Ernte über den Herstellungsprozess bis hin zur Etikettierung -, um dem Verbraucher ein glaubwürdiges, globales Zertifikat zu bieten.

WAS IST FAIR TRADE ODER FAIRTRADE?

Der Begriff „Fairtrade” wird verwendet, um das Zertifizierungs- und Kennzeichnungssystem von Fairtrade International zu beschreiben. Dieses System ermöglicht es den Verbrauchern, Waren zu identifizieren, die international anerkannte Fairtrade Standards erfüllen. Das Fairtrade Logo auf Kleidung bedeutet, dass Landwirte in Entwicklungsländern einen fairen Preis für ihre Baumwolle erhalten. Derzeit ist ein kleiner Teil der Kuyichi Kollektion Fairtrade zertifiziert, zum Beispiel unsere Tops, die bei Chetna organic hergestellt werden.

Der Begriff „Fair Trade“ bezieht sich auf eine weltweite Bewegung, die einen alternativen Ansatz zum konventionellen Handel unterstützt. Landwirte und Arbeitnehmer am Anfang der Produktionskette erhalten nicht immer einen gerechten Anteil des Gewinnes des Handels. Fair Trade ermöglicht den Verbrauchern, dies zu korrigieren.

WAS IST DER UNTERSCHIED ZWISCHEN FAIR_WEAR_FOUNDATION UND FAIRTRADE?

Fairtrade und Fair Wear Foundation sind beide bestrebt die lokalen Arbeitsbedingungen zu verbessern. Allerdings konzentrieren sie sich auf verschiedene Teile der Lieferkette:

– Fairtrade konzentriert sich auf faire Preise für Landwirte in Entwicklungsländern.
– Die Fair Wear Foundation konzentriert sich auf die Arbeitsbedingungen in den Fabriken, in denen Stoffe zu Kleidung verarbeitet werden.

WAS VERDIENEN ARBEITER IN BEKLEIDUNGSFABRIKEN?

Da wir die Fabriken nicht besitzen, können wir die Löhne nicht bestimmen. Die Fabriken, mit denen wir zusammenarbeiten, verpflichten sich jedoch dazu, sozial konform zu sein und zusätzliche Programme für die Mitarbeiter zu bieten. So hat SOORTY in Pakistan zum Beispiel ein Blutprogramm. Dies stellt sicher, dass jeder Arbeiter der Fabrik Reserveblut hat und jährlich auf Krankheiten untersucht wird. Die Arbeiter in den Bekleidungsfabriken verdienen mindestens den Mindestlohn.

UMWELT

WARUM IST BIO (-BAUMWOLLE) WICHTIG?

Bio-Pflanzen werden ohne den Einsatz von chemischen Düngemitteln, Pestiziden und Insektiziden angebaut. Pestizide verschmutzen den Boden und das Wasser, töten die Tierwelt und schädigen Gemeinschaften. In der ökologischen Landwirtschaft werden stattdessen natürliche Dünger und Düngetechniken verwendet. Dazu gehören Kompost, Gülle, natürlich gewonnene mineralische und pflanzliche Düngemittel und die Beachtung von Fruchtfolgen.

Wir waren die ersten, die sozial verantwortliche Jeans aus Bio-Baumwolle eingeführt haben. Im Vergleich zu konventioneller Baumwolle hat Bio-Baumwolle einen geringeren CO2-Fußabdruck, da der ökologische Baumwollanbau weniger Energie benötigt und gesunde organische Böden mehr Kohlenstoff speichern können. Außerdem benötigt die Produktion weniger Wasser und reduziert den Grauwasser-Fußabdruck (verschmutztes Wasser) enorm.
Bio-Baumwolle wird aus nicht genetisch veränderten Samen gezüchtet, was bedeutet, dass Biobauern die Kontrolle über ihr eigenes Geschäft besitzen und keine teuren genetisch veränderten Samen kaufen müssen.

Unabhängige Organisationen bestätigen, dass die zertifizierten biologischen Erzeuger nach strengen internationalen Standards nur natürliche Methoden und Materialien in der Bio-Produktion verwenden. Weitere Informationen über biologisch angebaute Materialien findest du auf der Webseite von Chetna Organic, GOTS und Textile Exchange.

WIE MACHT KUYICHI SEINE JEANS NACHHALTIGER?

Kuyichi Jeans sind aus Bio-Baumwolle, recycelter Baumwolle und recyceltem Polyester hergestellt. Unsere von Soorty hergestellten Jeans werden mit nachhaltigen Laser- und Ozontechniken gewaschen. Dies sind Techniken die viel Wasser und Chemikalien sparen.

Wir verwenden kein Sandstrahlen oder abrasives Strahlen um unsere Jeans fertigzustellen. Die Belastung durch Staub ist ein ernstes Gesundheitsrisiko für die Arbeiter in der Bekleidungsindustrie. Dies gilt insbesondere für diejenigen die mit dem Strahlen von Kleidungsstücken arbeiten.

WAS FÜR ZERTIFIZIERUNGEN BENUTZT KUYICHI?

Kuyichi verwendet mehrere Zertifizierungen, die sich auf den Materialverbrauch (Rohmaterial, Stoff oder Kleidungsstück), Verarbeitungstechniken und/oder soziale Konformität beziehen. Alle unsere Baumwollstoffe sind GOTS zertifiziert. Unser Lieferant Soorty ist SA8000, ISO9001 und GOTS zertifiziert, sowie BSCI und Higgs Index Teilnehmer. Unser Lieferant Dinateks A.S. ist zum Beispiel BSCI 2015 zertifiziert und geprüft von der Fair Wear Foundation. Erfahre mehr über unsere Fabriken und Lieferanten auf unserer Pure Production Seite.

Frequently Asked Questions

ORDERING

WHAT ARE THE SHIPPING COSTS?
Zone 1 €5,95
Zone 2 €12,95
Other €20,-

Zone 1: Belgium, Germany, Netherlands

Zone 2: Austria, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Ireland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom (UK)

WHAT IS THE DELIVERY TIME?

After your order is received, we will start processing your order immediately. Orders successfully processed will be shipped within one working day from our warehouse in The Netherlands. All our packages are shipped via PostNL. Once we have completed your order, you will receive a confirmation by email that your order has been shipped.

Shipping costs are on your account and will be added automatically to your invoice. Shipping costs vary by country/region and are made visible on your account before accepting your order.

Delivery within the Benelux and Germany will be within 1-5 working days. Shipments within the Benelux are delivered on Monday – Saturday.

For other countries/regions the delivery may take longer but will not exceed a maximum of 10 days.

Netherlands 1-2 Workdays
Belgium 1-5 Workdays
Luxembourg 1-5 Workdays
Germany 1-5 Workdays
Other 5-10 Workdays
HOW CAN I TRACK MY ORDER?

All our packages are shipped via PostNL. Once we have completed your order, you will receive a confirmation by email that your order has been shipped. You will receive a Track & Trace code to follow the shipment online.

HOW CAN I RETURN MY ORDER?

After you received your order you will have 14 days to return it to us if you are not satisfied for any reason whatsoever. Please make sure to send the product back in its original condition and packaging without any labels removed.

To make sure the package will reach us safely you are advised to use a service that provides you with a tracking number so that the package can be tracked at all times. It is your responsibility the package reaches us safely. Please note that return fees are for the customer and are non-refundable.

After the inspection of your return we will refund you through the same payment method you paid your order with. Returns are processed on a weekly basis so the refunding process should only take a couple of workdays.

Please send an email to webshop@kuyichi.com with the tracking number of your package to notify us of your shipment.

You can send your return packages to:

Kuyichi Webshop
Watermolen 6
4751VK Oud Gastel
Netherlands

COLLECTION

WHERE CAN I BUY KUYICHI?

You can buy Kuyichi clothes in our webshop and you can find our closest retailer through the store locator.

WHO SHALL I CONTACT IF MY KUYICHI PIECE DOESN’T LIVE UP TO THE EXPECTATIONS?

We would like to see all our customers happy with our products. In case of complaints we ask everyone to contact the store where the product has been purchased. Please don’t forget to bring your receipt or a transaction record from your bank. If the product was ordered from Kuyichi’s webshop, please contact us at webshop@kuyichi.com

HOW CAN I TAKE CARE OF MY CLOTHES?

To find out how a particular item can best be cleaned, please read the care instructions provided in the inside care label of your clothes.
Washing significantly impacts the environmental footprint of clothes. Kuyichi follows the clevercare symbol by GINETEX, which advises how you can influence the environmental impact of garment care. Our most important tips are:

  • Wash denim only when they are dirty. After wearing, jeans can be hung outside for a few hours to freshen up. Spots can mostly be cleaned with a damp cloth.
  • Use short or eco washing programs for lightly soiled laundry.
  • The care symbols show the maximum treatment. Washing at lower temperatures than indicated on the label is always possible, and uses less energy (but make sure to read the instructions on your detergent pack).
  • Whenever possible, dry laundry outdoors in fresh air or in an unheated room.
WHAT CAN I DO WITH MY OLD CLOTHES?

Kuyichi does not believe in fast fashion. All our clothes are designed to last: made of high quality fabrics with a timeless appearance. We aim to take care of products’ entire lifecycle, from production to recycling. When the time has come to say goodbye to your old clothes, please donate it to charity or drop it in a textile recycling container, to enable reuse or recycling of the garments. You can also bring your our denim to the Nukuhiva stores in Amsterdam and Utrecht. They collect jeans for us to be recycled into new products like this collaboration with Blueloop.

WHAT MATERIALS ARE KUYICHI'S CLOTHES MADE OF?

We aim to solely use sustainable materials. We use the Environmental Benchmark for Fibres by Made-By to define this. Class A and B are the most preferable materials. This includes organic cotton, tencel and recycled cotton. We also use linen, hemp and recycled polyester.

WHAT IS ORGANIC COTTON?

All the cotton we use is 100% organic cotton. Organic crops are grown without the use of chemical fertilizers, pesticides and insecticides. Organic cotton is 100% pesticide free. Pesticides pollute soil and water, killing wildlife and harming communities. Creat- ing organic cotton yarn reduces CO2 emissions by 60% compared to conventional cotton.

WHAT IS TENCEL?

Tencel is made from eucalyptus wood pulp. In production over 99% of the solvents and chemicals used are captured and recycled. Making Tencel fibers reduces greenhouse gas emissions by almost 50% and water consumption by 90% versus conventional cotton. It feels soft, doesn’t crease and is durable.

WHAT IS RECYCLED COTTON?

Since 2012 we have been using recycled cotton in our denim fabrics. Used cotton is shredded and re-spun into a new one-of-a- kind yarn. Recycling greatly reduces the water, energy and chemicals needed to produce new fiber. A part of our 2017 denim collection consists of 13% and 29% recycled cotton. We aim to use more recycled cotton fabric in the future

WHAT IS JACRON?

Many denim brands use a leather patch on their jeans. We decided to stop with the use of leather since 2016. We replaced the patch for a patch made of jacron, which makes all Kuyichi jeans vegan. Jacron is made of recycled paper. It is a washable and very resistant material.

WHAT IS LINEN?

Made from the flax plant, it’s one of the strongest fibers known to man – and the oldest. Making linen yarn requires few pesticides, and reduces CO2 emissions by 30% and water use by 90% versus conventional cotton. It has a fresh, crisp and richly-textured feel

WHAT IS RECYCLED POLYESTER?

Plastic bottles are collected, shredded and re-spun. This saves over 75% of the greenhouse gas emissions and more than 90% of the human-toxic chemicals needed to produce virgin polyester.  Recycling PET stops plastic from polluting the land and oceans, and it gives a soft and smooth look and feel to the fabric.

WHAT IS HEMP?

Hemp is one of the strongest natural fibers in the world. It grows very quickly, with little or no pesticides. Creating hemp yarn reduces CO2 emissions by 30% and water consumption by 90% compared to conventional cotton.

It feels warm, breathable and is really long-lasting.

WHERE ARE KUYICHI CLOTHES MANUFACTURED?

The Kuyichi clothes are manufactured in Turkey, Pakistan and India. You can find more information about our production here.

SOCIAL COMPLIANCE

HOW DOES KUYICHI TAKE CARE OF THE PEOPLE WHO MAKE THE CLOTHES?

Through the use of organic cotton, Kuyichi is promoting responsible and ethical trading. Among high-level environmental criteria, GOTS requires compliance with social criteria.
We select our suppliers with care and make sure they agree with, and sign our Code of Conduct. Our Code of Conduct is put together to ensure that Kuyichi products are produced responsibly. This Code of Conducts applies to all parts of the production chain, to our suppliers and their subcontractors. We consider it very important to take responsibility for our actions, and we want to make this perfectly clear to all of our suppliers and sub-suppliers, our sta , agents, distributors and other parties. This Code of Conduct contains the basic requirements we demand of all of our suppliers and subcontractors.

WHAT'S IN KUYICHI CODE OF CONDUCT?

The Code of Conduct is based on international regulations set by the International Labour Organization (ILO) and the United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights and includes the Code of Labour Practice used by Fair Wear Foundation. Although Kuyichi is currently not a member of the Fair Wear Foundation, we do highly value their Code of Labour Practice and based our Code of Conduct on it.

Your find read our Code of Conduct here.

WHAT IS GOTS?

All the cotton we use is GOTS certified. GOTS stands for the Global Organic Textile Standard. This is a global textile standard for organic fibers, which also includes ecological and social criteria. The aim of the standard is to ensure organic standards – everything from the harvesting, through the manufacturing process to the labeling – in order to offer a credible global certificate to the consumer.

WHAT IS FAIR TRADE OR FAIRTRADE?

The term ‘Fairtrade’ is used to describe the certification and labelling system governed by Fairtrade International. This system allows consumers to identify goods that have met internationally-agreed Fairtrade Standards. The Fairtrade logo on clothing means that farmers in developing countries get paid a fair price for their cotton. Currently a small part of Kuyichi’s collection is Fairtrade certified, for example tops produced at Chetna Organic.

The term ‘Fair Trade’ refers to a worldwide movement that supports an alternative approach to conventional trade. Farmers and workers at the beginning of the chain don’t always get a fair share of the benefits of trade. Fair Trade enables consumers to put this right.

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN FAIR_WEAR_FOUNDATION AND FAIRTRADE?

Fairtrade and Fair Wear Foundation both strive to improve local working conditions, but they focus on different parts of the supply chain:

– Fairtrade focuses on ensuring fair prices for farmers in the developing world.
– Fair Wear Foundation focuses on labour conditions in the factories where fabric is made into clothing.

WHAT DO GARMENT WORKERS IN FACTORIES EARN?

We do not own the factories, so we cannot determine the wages. However, the factories we work with are committed to become socially compliant. Garment workers will earn at least the minimum wage.

ENVIRONMENT

WHY IS ORGANIC (COTTON) IMPORTANT?

Organic crops are grown without the use of chemical fertilizers, pesticides and insecticides. Pesticides pollute soil and water, killing wildlife and harming communities. With organic agriculture natural fertilizers and fertilizing techniques are used instead, including compost, manure, naturally derived mineral and plant fertilizers, and crop rotation.

We were the first to introduce socially-responsible organic cotton jeans wear. Compared to conventional cotton, organic cotton has a lower carbon footprint, because organic cotton farming requires less energy and healthy organic soil can store more carbon. The production also requires less water and enormously reduces the grey water footprint (polluted water). Organic cotton is grown from non-genetically modified seeds (GM), which means organic farmers keep control on their own business and they do not have to buy expensive GM seeds.

Independent organisations verify that organic producers employ only approved natural methods and materials in organic production according to strictly enforced international standards. More information on organic grown materials can be found on the websites of Chetna Organic, GOTS and Textile Exchange.

HOW DOES KUYICHI MAKE THEIR JEANS MORE SUSTAINABLE?

Kuyichi jeans are made of sustainable materials like organic cotton, recycled cotton and recycled polyester. Our denims made by Soorty are washed with sustainable laser and ozon techniques. Techniques that save a lot of water and chemicals.

We use no sandblasting or abrasive blasting as finishing process on our jeans. Exposure to dust is a serious health hazard for workers in the garment industry. This is especially true for those working with abrasive blasting of garments.

WHAT CERTIFICATIONS DOES KUYICHI USE?

Kuyichi makes use of several certifications, related to material use (raw material, fabric or garment), processing techniques and/or social compliance. All our cotton fabrics are GOTS certified. Our supplier Soorty is SA8000, ISO9001, GOTS certified,  BSCI and Higgs Index participant. Our supplier Dinateks A.S. is BSCI certified and audited by the Fair Wear Foundation in 2015.